Soap Operas

My first introduction to Soaps was when I was a lil kid in Omaha. I’d come home from school, go straight to the kitchen grab 3 Oreos or Chocolate Chip cookies and a big ol glass of whole milk. This was the mid 70’s…we had milk delivered to us in glass bottles by our front door. I was also a latch key kid who walked to school to and from unless it was a blizzard to lightening. Thought I’d clarify I was a child of self sufficiency.

Ours read 'Roberts Dairy'.

This is our actual TV model...

I’d plop down in front the Sylvania and watch the last 5-10 mins of ‘The Edge of Night’ – mainly because there was nothing else to do and I didn’t want to miss the opening score/scene of the 60’s BATMAN which was what I was waiting for.

The Edge of Night

So I sit there and watch this drama unfold and see the beautiful women with long flowing big banged hair talk, kiss and slap men with big moustaches. I knew my Mom loved watching these shows and often wondered why. The show ends and I watch my BATMAN with Adam West, immediately clean up my mess then go outside and play til my Mom yells for me – usually right around dusk time. Golden days.

Flash to my College days. I work and go to school and get a job at a reservations center for Hotels – Carlson Travel Network. My hours are such that I’m able to watch ”The Young and the Restless’ followed by ‘The Bold and the Beautiful’. on my 1 hour break. Yes..1 hour. The ladies also monopolize the break room with me for the ONE TV so we pretty much own the break room. I catch up and learn all about the characters, fall in love with Hunter Tylo. This goes on til I land a job as an intern at The Garden Cafe as a graphic designer. My schedule isn’t working for daytime soaps. I forget about them. Sorta.

Hunter Tylo before her plastic surgery super disaster.

Few years down the road I’m working 2 jobs – 2nd and 3rd shift back to back – to take care of my soon to be born first child, my son! My schedule is 2:30-10:30 then Midnight til 6:30. One as a Graphic Designer for ‘Pull Tabs’ – think scratch offs for the Lotto and the other is for a company called ‘Black Dot’ which works with large publications to produce magazines. I’d work in the photo dept touching up images for 6 hours straight. Course I’d get home when everyone was heading to work and could really only sleep 4-5 hours but when I was awake I’d catch up on my Soaps. This lasted 6-7 months. I missed Hunter.

Now – my soaps aren’t daytime Soaps. Mine are prime time shows and most recently ABC’s REVENGE. I recently had 2 weeks off of work and during that time – experimented with new shows via HULU plus and Netflix. Revenge caught me because of the whole Soap Opera feel. ┬áMy wife and I enjoy dramas a lot. This one fit the niche and hopefully will fill the Daytime Soaps – although I could DVR the daytimes….. =)

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Dose, General Info

One response to “Soap Operas

  1. It would be NICE if they would ever show anything but repeats!!! What the hell?

Leave a Reply

