The levels of Geekdom

While eating BOOGAS at Tanners today a topic of discussion, while brief, was interesting (to me). Levels of geekdom, nerdness, freak. Let’s first go over the terminology because there seems to be several so your mileage may and will vary. I’m a new nerd, new in that my gaming nerdness started back in 1993 with Magic the Gathering. Prior to that I collected (still do) comic books…collecing comics is more geek than nerd. That was the extent of geekdom before 1993, comic books and loved certain genres of science fiction…but I never read novels just comics, Carl Sagan (COSMOS!) and Douglas Adams.

After my learning and playing of Magic I moved onto the novels of the lore of MtG as well as playing other Collectible Card Games like; WYVERN, Star Trek, Star Wars, Illuminati, Highlander, Call of Cthulu, Doomtrooper (one of my favs) and a few others, I tried all except Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh as that would put me at a level of play and geekdom to which wouldn’t grasp. Or would want to. So, my focus on the genre of CCG’s last to this day, as well as my love for all things Star Wars, Science Fiction, Comics (of which is or has crossed over to mainstream, good thing? No…but that’s another blog),

  1. Classic Nerd : glasses/contacts, plays Dungeons and Dragons, has at one point in time had conversations in basic, plays online games but very very picky and snobbish. Remembers his first computer and probably still has it somewhere in moms house. Plays MUD from time to time. Social skills are limited to close knit friends and weary of crowds.
  2. New Age Nerd : Plays MMO’s but the old ones like Everquest. Refuses to play new games on the basis of it costing too much money but has no problems buying $493.00 worth of used Warhammer Miniatures (already painted).
  3. Live Action Role Playing Nerd: For those who don’t know what a LARP is…it someone who acts out the physical attributes with others. Just think back when you we’re 8 years old playing Army/Cowboys & Indians/Barbies but over the age of 15. Most are in thier late 30’s. These people are very very serious about games and roleplaying. They are also scary depending on the type of roleplaying they’re doing. They will book their conventions at hotels and take it over, literally. I give mad props to these people because they don’t a fuck what you or society thinks of them, these are the purists of nerds/geeks. Here’s an example…….
  4. MUD Nerd: These are the online versions of a Dungeon and Dragons player. They literally make things up in a game without using anything except the power of words. No graphics, no flash…just their brains and a sometimes loose set of rules. It would drive me NUTS doin this (I did in 1990 for 1 month..I quit due to sex, drugs and slam dancing). MUD stands for Mutli-User Dungeon. — here’s an example…..
  5. Warhammer/Lead Nerds: these are very close to the DnD nerds in that they are using little figurines that they can paint themselves or have someone else paint them. This endeavor into gaming is among the most expensive where collections usually start around $500.00 + just recently (past 5 years) a smart marketing guy came up with the el cheapo version of Clix and variances. Instead of pewter/lead figurines it’s made out of little plastic figures on top of a base for the mechanics of the game. Strength/Power/Abilities. I’ve not tried this one as like most things in gaming I can’t do it half asses and with my monies for gaming goes to MMO’s and Magic…well my money is stretched to my limit on comfort level. These type of gamers/nerds are hardcore, how could you not be when it’s basically playing with barbies…but with swords and guns. (Think grown up GI JOE).
  6. “Ohh looks it’s SHINEY!” nerd– this would resemble my gaming/nerding style. I will try most new games for awhile then simply quit them unless they have that addictive crack feeling to them (Like WoW and MtG). These types will go from game to game like you should change your underwear– everyday. They also tend to master the game very quickly but with that get very bored and need more options. I have 5 level 70’s in WoW and 4 more in their upper 40s…in that aspect of being bored or needing change, I got that covered.
I’m sure there are several other types out there I’ve left out like the Comic Book Nerd, Starcraft Asian Nerds, Horror Nerds, those people who dress up like Furry Animals freaks/geeks and even have sex with that costumes on…, the Star Trekkies, Star Wars (like me) collector nerds, the list goes on and on. Point is with so many options out there for types one has to be careful labeling us nerds.
5 Comments

Filed under World of Warcraft

5 responses to “The levels of Geekdom

  1. Let’s see I am-

    1. A former DnD Nerd, now MMORPG Nerd. I have a friend tho who still spends 90% of his personal time playing DnD. I drop a couple hours several times a week to feed my WoW fix.

    2. A comic/film geek. I don’t collect either like I used to (for monetary reasons) but still admire both mediums and the stories they tell. With comics I am pretty much a super hero guy, but with movies I dig anything escapist.

    3. Classic Nerd/Bookworm. Read a whole book just this weekend.

    4. A Freak. I can’t put too much in writing here. I haven’t done a LOT of things out there, but the chances are I know somebody who has.

    And you know, if people don’t fit at least partially into the nerd/geek/freak grid I usually am not that close to them. I may get along with all kinds of people, but I dig weird!

  2. Since actions define people….recap.

    1. Finished up a book (Tribulation Force from the LEFT BEHIND series)
    2. Clocked in 16 hours of WoW
    3. Watched Battlestar Galactica

  3. Yeah but BSG is one of the best things on TV! Nothing geek bout good TV.

  4. When the Star Trek: TNG CCG came out, my dad and I were all over that. When my mom would go away for one weekend a month, to visit my grandmother, my dad and I would move the furniture in the living room to have plenty of room to spread out our weekend-long games.

    I still have my cards somewhere in the closet…

  5. phyrelight

    OMG. I know one of the guys in that LARP video. LOL!

Leave a Reply

