Easy.

WORLD OF WARCRAFT is easy. Too easy. The only real ingredient you need to be successful in the game is TIME. If you have enough time you can have most all elements of WoW under your proverbial belt. Risk and reward are off set by nearly ZERO risk and tons of rewards. If you have the time. I can say this bold statement as I’ve been playing WoW since it’s beginning– on my server Azshara it was a mere 3 weeks old when I made ‘WookieLuv’ and joined ‘Flurry United’. To those rare few who started back then you know exactly what I’m talking about. I can list a list of lists that back me up but it’s a MOOT point. M-O-O-T.

Time is NOW. Want to skip levels 1-54? Make a DK. Want to skip running your little feet off from place to place til you hit 40? Skip it and get one at 30. No more attunements for MC, no more Key runs for Kara, no more Rep grinding for that special piece of gear/recipe. It’s all within 1-2 weeks of your time to pretty much get whatever you want. Buy gold and you can gear up from the AH within hours whereas before took months.

This to me will be the downfall of the best ever made MMO in history. Simplicity. You’ve (Blizzard) have dumbed down the original game into a mere console game, almost. I recently hit 80 with Wootbeer a couple weeks ago and have nearly 50% of what the top tanks have in gear which took them maybe a few months to acquire, depending on the guild and pugs they were associated with. When things come too easy they don’t have much value to them- this applies across the board in real life. I have little empathy for those who complain about not having enough gold or gear in WoW– they want handouts to an already CAKE game. It’s the ulitmate lazyness lazy-ness…lol.

Guild progression in todays game is a joke. Maybe 5 current fights require actual timing and planning: Ulduar 25, EOE 25 & ToC** are some exceptions. **ToC and it’s variants of simply standing around in a circle jerk is progression and seeing endgame?? Really? ToC bridges the gap for the handicapped….sure the gear is sub-par Naxx but if you don’t have 4-6 hrs to waste in Naxx do chains and you will be just that…sub par.

Blizzard needs to come up with more detailed dungeons where one thinks before they act. With the right healer and tank one can really ‘JENKINS‘ most dungeons. Where is the fun in that? (Actually I love it when someone Jenkins an instance I’m tanking or healing as it breaks up the monotony of instances….keeping people on their toes is FUN)  I see no fun or tangible reach arounds for getting things ingame where one doesn’t actually earn it. Go back to the drawing boards now that you have the 14.99 per month x 11 million players and have some forethought into bringing back meaningful raids. Force people to read up on fights, not just the tank and or healer but everyone including lazy DPS people. Yes, DPS specs are the least amount of responsible class out there– they need to be held accountable too, not just tanks and healers. YES, I know your high DPS is essential but do you really think there is ANY pressure on DPS specs to get the job done vs. Tanks and Heals? No. Click Click Click. Done.

Make a dungeon where the make up of your group has requirements specific to the class. Rogues have to “kick” something, Hunters HAVE to TRAP things, Mages HAVE to make the perfect strudel. Something, anything that would make WoW more fun and interesting. In it’s current state it’s lacking backbone. I crave challenges (cept running guilds….lol…haha..) and when something that was challenging turns into boring I like to change it up on my end. I’d just like the world’s greatest game makers to look deeper into the crystal ball of gaming and re-evaluate what makes us gamers ‘tick’.

That is all.

3 Comments

Filed under World of Warcraft

3 responses to “Easy.

  1. LOL no. I tend to be a ONE MAN MMO person. But I will say once SC2 and D3 come out my WoW time will drastically drop.

  2. I think Blizzard knows its game is becoming “Old Hat” when you can look up anything on thotbot. Thats probably why they are doing the cataclysm; it’s to shake things up. I remember the only time I went back to the original everquest was when they started updating the zones with new the new graphics engine. I was more interested in seeing what they did to my favorite hang outs than actual questing. With that in mind, you know there will be a upsurge in players coming back to the game if only to relive some old memories. But I warn you, it too will be short lived. =p

Leave a Reply

